Skip to content

Social Work Blog Awards: Submissions

January 21, 2010

So I have started developing this idea a little further and I came up with seven categories, which I think cover the spectrum of the majority of the social work blogs.

Also, I have created a new page on my blog solely dedicated for the Blog Awards, where everyone can read the procedures that all blogs should follow in order to
participate and where all matters regarding the awards will be addressed.

I hope everyone enjoys the awards and start submitting blogs!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 7:12 pm

    I’ll get thinking – I’m just wondering where adult services such as those working with older adults would fall? Physical disabilities?

    • January 23, 2010 12:10 pm

      Hi cb, good point, I’ve thought of maybe adding another category called Adult/Elderly Services, what do you think?

      • January 23, 2010 8:26 pm

        Or making the learning disabilities/physical disabilities an ‘adult’ category, perhaps? I think it’s my personal bugbear that older adults are so often forgotten and considered separately from other ‘adults’ when of course, you don’t stop being an adult when you turn 65…. it might also encompass palliative social work – where I know there are a few blogs around. .

      • January 24, 2010 7:45 am

        Just something else that came to me as I was thinking that – generally the function of social workers in the physical disabilities/learning disabilities field and those working with older adults is the same (this is painting a very broad brush but I say this having working in community teams for physical disabilities as well as older adults) – namely care planning and care management. Also, there are traditionally, in the UK anyway, three ‘strands’ to ‘social work’ – children, adults and mental health and each of these ‘strands’ has different legislative frameworks, modi operandus and post-qualifying threads which is why to me it makes more sense to divide on those lines (again, personally, I am not sure I like these divisions as I have argued against splitting mental health from ‘adult’ work – but that’s not really relevant at this point – because that’s how it is!).
        Anyway, sorry for rambling on.. I just hate to see older adults overlooked as a prime area of work and importance!

      • January 24, 2010 9:12 am

        You re completely right cb I have taken your thoughts into consideration and updated the categories.
        The learning and physical disabilities category is now a broader category called Adult Social Services, it includes the former, palliative social work and all other adult services.

  2. January 22, 2010 9:53 pm

    Do people have to BE social workers/bloggers to nominate? I’m going to post about the awards on my blog to hopefully drive over some traffic!

    • January 23, 2010 12:18 pm

      I’ve thought of making the whole process open, so everyone can submit as long as they read social work blogs 🙂

      Thanks, that would be really nice of you, so we can have more people participating.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: